Crispy Spinach Chips

I love to snack so having something on hand that’s light and crispy and flavorful and healthy is the best thing in the world. I love kale chips and I made about a million batches this summer with all the kale I grew in my garden. I also experimented with collard green chips and they werent as good as the kale chips but still pretty good. Just recently I got the idea to do spinach chips, which turned out to be crispy and delicious. I do mine in the dehydrator because I believe the dehydrator truly gives the best results for this kind of chip. I’ve done kale chips in the oven and they were never as good as when they’re done in the dehydrator. Dehydrating takes out the moisture and dries the chips instead of baking them and possible burning them. They end up perfectly crispy every time.

I would definitely recommend getting organic spinach because spinach tends to be one of the vegetables that is most likely to be laden with pesticides. I urge everyone to buy organic and local whenever possible but I know for some people it’s just not in the budget or just not available. I certainly can’t buy everything organic either, I get what I can. But there are certain things that I always, always, get organic and one of them is spinach. Β They have big bulk plastic bins of spinach that is USDA organic at my local supermarket and I always get it when I’m there.

Recipe:

5 or 6 handfuls of organic spinach

1-2 tbsp olive oil or another oil of choice

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1-2 tsp garlic powder

1-2 tsp

a couple sprinkles onion powder

1 tsp agave

1/2 tsp cayenne

*additional options: adobo, chili powder, cinnamon, vegan cheese, sea salt, black pepper, any other herbs or spices that you find delicious
Put all your spinach in a big bowl and coat with olive oil. You don’t want too much or the oilyness will delay the drying time. Add all the spices and then mix together with your hands and rub everything in to incorporate all the flavors. Place the spinach on several racks of your dehydrator and then dehydrate for at least 4 hours or longer until crisp and to your liking!

*If you’d like these to be raw, dehydrate at around 105 for 6 hours or longer

6 thoughts on “Crispy Spinach Chips

  1. Nice! I had been wondering if you could do this with spinach instead of kale. Great blog. Thanks for liking my Vegan Ramen post and leading me to your recipes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

